Labour’s Geoff Smith holds Crookes seat in 2015 local election

Sandygate polling station
Sandygate polling station
Labour’s Geoff Smith has been reelected as a councillor for Crookes in the 2015 local elections.

The results were as follows:

  • Geoff Smith, Labour Party: 3,818
  • Harry Matthews, Liberal Democrats: 2,965
  • Julian Briggs, Green Party: 1,868
  • Will Lockwood, The Conservative Party: 1,348
  • Andrew Pemberton, UK Independence Party (UKIP): 847
  • Nick Hall, Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition: 121

There were a total of 15,398 votes with a turnout of 72.3%.

In the general election, Nick Clegg retained his Sheffield Hallam seat, but with a much reduced majority.

Crookes Ward local election 2015 result

Sheffield elections May 2015


Crookes ward results: Labour win for Anne Murphy

Sheffield’s Liberal Democrat leader Shaffaq Mohammed has been beaten to the Crookes ward seat by Labour’s Anne Murphy in the 2014 local elections.

Labour won with 2,103 votes, with the Liberal Democrats second with 1,833. The Green Party was third on 1,141.

The full results for the Crookes ward were:

Overall city results means that Labour maintains control of the council.

The European Election results due to be announced on Sunday at 10pm.

Crosspool residents vote in European and local elections

Stephen Hill church polling station in Crosspool
Stephen Hill church polling station in Crosspool

Crosspool residents will be casting their votes today to choose a new local councillor for the Crookes ward and vote in the European election.

The six Crookes ward candidates standing in the local election are:

European Elections are also taking place today. For these, you vote for a political party to represent your views in the European Parliament, not an individual candidate.

So on the voting slip you’ll choose one ward candidate and one European political party.

The local election results are expected late on Friday morning, with the European Election results due to be announced on Sunday at 10pm.