Crosspool residents vote in police and crime commissioner election

Stephen Hill church polling station in Crosspool
Stephen Hill church polling station in Crosspool

Crosspool residents are casting their votes today to choose a police and crime commissioner (PCC) for South Yorkshire.

The candidates are:

  • David Allen – English Democrats
  • Jonathan Arnott – UKIP
  • Nigel Bonson – Conservative
  • Robert Teal – Liberal Democrat
  • Shaun Wright – Labour

You can find out more about each of them on the Choose My PCC website and the BBC website.

Will you be voting in this election? If not, why not? At last month’s Crosspool Forum Open Meeting, opinion was divided on the idea of a publicly-elected police and crime commissioner.

One report this morning from a polling station in the area said that turnout so far seemed to be lower than for a general or local election.